Nominations for the AAAS David and Betty Hamburg Award for Science Diplomacy open

The AAAS Center for Science Diplomacy, an associated partner to the S4D4C project, accepts nominations for the 2022 award from April 15 through June 30, 2021.

The AAAS David and Betty Hamburg Award for Science Diplomacy recognizes an individual or a limited number of individuals working together in the scientific and engineering or foreign affairs communities who are making an outstanding contribution to furthering science diplomacy. We highlight the importance of awards and prizes as a tool to implement a science diplomacy strategy here:

AAAS has honoured an international cadre of science diplomacy practitioners already over 28 years! It first established the International Scientific Cooperation Award in 1992. The AAAS Board of Directors approves the award since it was renamed the AAAS Award for Science Diplomacy in 2010. And this year, the award has been renamed for David and Betty Hamburg to recognize their unparalleled commitment to the significant role of science diplomacy to advance science, human rights, peace, and cooperation. For more information about the contributions of David and Betty Hamburg, please see the AAAS website. AAAS also acknowledges the Carnegie Corporation of New York for their generous support to launch the AAAS David and Betty Hamburg Award for Science Diplomacy and the individuals and foundations whose contributions have begun an endowment that will allow us to sustain it in perpetuity.

The award recipient receives a monetary prize of $10,000, a commemorative plaque, complimentary registration for the AAAS Annual Meeting and reimbursement for travel and hotel expenses to attend, worldwide promotion of their achievements through AAAS communication channels, and the opportunity to publish in Science & Diplomacy about their work. The award is presented each year at the AAAS Annual Meeting.

The 2021 awardee was Carlos Nobre, a Brazilian climate scientist specializing in the effects of climate change in the Amazon. Credit: Neil Orman/AAAS and here you find more information about other past recipients.

Further information about eligibility and required materials:; submission platform:; inquiries: Center for Science Diplomacy.

S4D4C Team

Posted by S4D4C Team